MINUTES OF A MEETING OF THE LICENSING SUB-COMMITTEE HELD AT COUNCIL CHAMBER - NEUADD MALDWYN, WELSHPOOL, POWYS ON MONDAY, 4 FEBRUARY 2019

PRESENT

County Councillor L V Corfield (Chair)

County Councillors L George and K Lewis

1. APPLICATION FOR PREMISES LICENCE

1.1. Sub-Committee procedures

The Chair introduced the Sub-Committee and its Clerk.

The Clerk to the Sub-Committee on behalf of the Solicitor to the Council explained the procedures to be followed by the Sub-Committee.

1.2. Application for a licence

Premises – Old Barclays Bank Building, 4 Heol Pentrehedyn, Macynlleth **Applicant** – Alan Murphy trading as Mach 1 Leisure Limited

Responsible Authorities

Fire Service (Caren Wells) Environmental Health (Paul Bufton) Police (Rod Bowen – Police Licensing Officer) (not present)

Objectors

Occupier Tower Shop, Mr RDC & Mrs EJ Jones JP, Mr M Smith and Ms C Anthony (present).

The Licensing Officer presented the licensing authority's position as outlined in the report [copy filed with the signed minutes]. She advised that the Licensing section was content with the consultation undertaken by the Applicant.

The Sub-Committee heard objections from the Responsible Authorities present, namely – The Fire Service and Environmental Health. There were also objections from Ms Anthony. The principal objections were concerning noise nuisance and public safety.

All parties confirmed that they had been able to make their representations.

The Sub-Committee withdrew to consider, in private, the application and the evidence they had heard, with the support of the Clerk.

On their return the Chair announced their decision. In reaching the decision members took into account the relevant written and verbal representations.

RESOLVED	Reason for decision
That the application be refused.	For the promotion of the licensing
	objectives principally public

safety and prevention of public
nuisance.

The Clerk to the Sub-Committee advised that he would confirm the decision in writing and reminded parties of their right to appeal.

The Chair thanked all for attending.

County Councillor L V Corfield (Chair)